Saif Power title sponsors of BPL

Tuesday, 25 July 2017 13:39

Dhaka, July 25: Saif Power Battery has become title sponsors of the 2017-18 season of Bangladesh Premier League.

Saif Power Battery bought the title rights this for Tk 1.5 crores. Last year’s sponsors, JB group had bought the same rights for Tk 4 crores.

Abdus Salam Murshedy, the senior vice president of the Bangladesh Football Federation, spoke at the announcement on Sunday afternoon saying that a number of different circumstances had led to the decrease of BPL sponsorship. “However, we look forward to continue the league in its own course. BPL will start on July 28 as per schedule at Bangabandhu National Stadium,” said Murshedy.

The Saif Power Battery is only a subsidiary of a mother company that has its own team playing in the league as well. Murshedy said the federation would not put up with any irregularities when pointed that that sponsors also had their own team in the tournament. “All the teams will under the scanner. No team will get any advantage or fall short of their eligible right,” said Murshedy.

Tarafdar Md. Ruhul Saif, the director of Saif Global Sports assured they will stay with football. “Maybe the game is going through a bad patch but we firmly believe that the scenario will change, we are here to be with football and will remain here,” said Saif.

This year’s edition of BPL will have be shorter as it has come down to only two venues from the five last year. Last year JB Group sponsored the league that was held at five venues of Dhaka, Chittagong, Sylhet, Mymensingh and Gopalganj. But the federation will host the league in only Dhaka and Chittagong this time.

Dhaka Abahani, Chittagong Abahani, Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi, Sheikh Russell, Muktijoddha, Mohammedan, Brothers Union, Rahmatganj, Team BJMC, newcomers Saif Sporting and Farashganj will participate in the league. Uttar Baridhara and Feni Soccer tasted relegation last year. Bangla TV, a new satellite channel, will air the league live.