Bangabandhu Gold Cup – At a Glance


Bangabandhu Gold Cup, the most prestigious international football event in Bangladesh, named after the Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman. The Top Bangladeshi title “Bangabandhu” means "Friend of Bangladesh".

First Edition, 1996:
The 1st edition of this top event launched in 1996 with the participation of East Bengal Club-India, Mohammedan SC-India, PSM-Ujung Pandang-Indonesia, Bargh Shiraj FC-Iran, Malaysia-Red, Malaysia-Blue, Cosmos Club-Russia, Friends Club Kopundol-Nepal, Eastern All Star FC-Thailan, Bangladesh- Mohammedan SC, Abahani Limited and Muktijoddha Sangsad KC. In the final, Malaysia-Red (Malaysia) won the title by scoring two (2) goals against and conceiving one (1) from PSM- Ujung Pandang (Indonesia).

Second Edition, 1999:
The following edition of the competition after the first, 2nd edition in 1999, consisted of Hungary Kerolet F.C, Malaysia, Brazil (Rio-de-Jeneiro), Korea, Thailand, Ghana, Uzbekistan, Nepal, Japan, Kuwait, Indonesia and Bangladesh. Ghana made to final against Japan but after fulltime draw 2-2, Japan clinched the championship by Golden Goal.

Third Edition, 2015:
The 3rd edition of this tournament, in 2015, ‘Bangabandhu Cup’ has been changed to “Bangabandhu Gold Cup 2015” international football tournament” where Bahrain, Malaysia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Thailand and host Bangladesh took part. In the opening on 29th January-2015 at District Stadium-Sylhet, the host team Bangladesh lost by 1 goal against Malaysia in front of a full stadium football fans and in the final, Bangladesh lost by 2-3 goals against Malaysia on 8th February-2015 at Bangabandhu National Stadium-Dhaka in front of a jam- pack stadium full of Football Fans who enjoyed the atmosphere of home teams’ good performance.
Bangladesh Football Federation is very thankful to the most esteemed 13 Corporate who supported the “Bangabandhu Gold Cup 2015” as Sponsors are in the following categories:

Presenting Sponsor - AB Bank Limited.
Official Partners: Ha-meem Group, National Bank Limited, Beximco, Modhumoti Bank Limited, Premier Bank Limited and Janata Bank Limited.
Host Broadcaster - Channel 9.
International Broadcaster - Fox Sports.
International Airline Partner - Biman Bangladesh Limited.
Domestic Airline Partner – NOVOAIR Limited.
Official Beverage Partner – Mushkan.
Official ISP – Banglalion.